Hi, I am a new in EntireX

Dear All

I am very new in EntireX communicator. We just installed today to use EntireX to communicate with MS Visual Studio .Net based application. Our mainframe DBA told me that they setup EntireX in the VSE environment. now I need to install in the Windows Server 2003 environment. Is there any body who can give me some quick wins in installing the entireX and communicate with natural objects - while we are waiting to get training from Software AG.

cheers

Moshtaq

It is better you aks for a training but anyhow…

Ask you DBA to setup a natural rpc server. It should register as a name in the EntireX broker. something like RPC/SRV1/CALLNAT. Ask them to setup the natural environment so that SYSRPC,SYSIDL,SYSEXT,SYSLIBS are defined steplibs. How to that that is depending on the fact if you have natural security or not.

Install EntireX on your destop. Simple setup, but make that you are aligned with the security concept of the entireX broker which I assume is installed on the VSE. Problably without security. So, do not install with security on your desktop to be aligned with the security on the broker.

As you can see, many things are conditional.

After installation you will find bach a tool called natural IDl generator.
This tools allows you to generate interface definition of you natural subprograms. This application is itself using entireX to go to the MF to scan your natural sources (or objects, there is a flag for it in the options). So the tool will, not work if you do not have a Natural RPC server registered in the broker with the correct setup as explained.