Windows Command-line Data Extract tool for Adabas?

Hi

Can anyone tell me if there’s a data extraction tool for Adabas like the bcp utility for SQL Server? I’m going to be extracting data from an Adabas install on Linux and dropping it into a MySQL database on Windows 2003 Server and I need a command-line tool I can run from a batch file or VB script and drop the data into a csv file. I already have this type of thing running on my SQL Servers, now now need the same thing on Adabas.

Many thanks

I don’t know SQL Server.
But maybe the commands adauld and adadcu will help you.

Please see the documentation for both utilities for more details.

Thanks, I’ll have a look. I don’t know Adabas, so it’ll be an education.

Don’t think they are what I’m looking for, unless I’m misreading them. I’m new to Adabas, and it’s not as straight forward as the DBs I’m used to.

I need to extract data from 9 fields from 2 tables (for now) into a .csv file on a 3-hourly schedule using a windows batch file or vb script, as I don’t have access to the server or the database, only to a set of reporting tables or views. I do have the ODBC driver installed on the server that will be doing the extraction, can I run commands through that - something like the one below which is based on one I use for inserting the csv into MySQL:

Dim dbCON
Set dbCON = CreateObject(“ADODB.Connection”)
dbCON.Open “DSN=UPLOAD”
dbCON.Execute “Load data local infile ‘c:\scripts\export.csv’ IGNORE into table rpt_main;”
dbCON.Close

If I could run a SELECT statement in dbCON.Execute it might work, or for example the bcp command looks like:

bcp Database…viewDataExport out C:\Reporting\rpt_main.csv -c -k -t , -r # -S localhost -U USERNAME -PPASSWORD