Natural Program to Write ADABAS Data to Text or Excel File

Hello All,

I want to write a natural program to read all the adabas data files and write the data of each file to a text file or an excel file. Because I need to import the data to Oracle.

Any help will be appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks in Advance,

You do not give any indication re. what operating system Natural
is running on, but if we are talking about Linux / Unix / Windows:

There are more direct ways like Entire Access to write to Oracle directly,
or both the Adabas SOA Gateway and the Adabas SQL Gateway will
provide means for a more direct transfer as well, but when you want
to go via Excel write to a CSV workfile from Natural.

Thanks for your quick reply :slight_smile:

Sorry but I’m new to Natural.

The used database is ADABAS 8.1.2 on an IMB 22096 computer and IBMz/OS version 1.9 operating system, and the natural version is 4.2.6 for mainframe

How to write the adabas data to csv workfile?
How can i get or download this file after writing to it? What’s the work file directory?

I tried to use (WRITE WORK FILE 1 #myVariable) and use (DOWNLOAD PC FILE 1 #myVariable), but i couldn’t get the file!!

DOWNLOAD PC requires Entire Connection, does your site have it ?

What does " i couldn’t get the file" mean, are you seeing error messages when writing the work file ?

If you have Entire Connection, it will take care of creating the CSV file for you when you use the DOWNLOAD PC # statement. Make sure you have the # (1 in your example) associated with PC in the work files startup parameter for Natural and either have PC=ON in the startup or issue %+ from the NEXT prompt before running your program.