NATURAL CE NAT_8.3.4.0.171 on Windows 10 - NAT3148

Good Morning,

I’m a Natural noob, just installed Community Edition which includes ADABAS. I know this because when trying to install ADABAS it says its already installed. I was able to get “hello world” working, now trying to read from ADABAS demo database…

DEFINE DATA
LOCAL
1 EMPLOYEES-VIEW VIEW OF EMPLOYEES
2 FULL-NAME
3 NAME (A20)
2 DEPT (A6)
2 LEAVE-DATA
3 LEAVE-DUE (N2)
END-DEFINE

READ EMPLOYEES-VIEW BY NAME
DISPLAY NAME 3X DEPT 3X LEAVE-DUE
END-READ

END

The error message at top says “NAT3148 Database 12 is not active or not accessible” but also says…

NAT3148 Database :1: is not active or not accessible

TEXT:
Adabas is not active or not accessible.
EXPL:
The Adabas nucleus was not active or not accessible when the command
was issued.
ACTN:
Start the database or contact your database administrator

I have 6 Software AG windows services installed which are all running except Administration Service.

adashow displays this…

C:\Natural-CE\Adabas\INSTALL>adashow -a

Current ADABAS default database :

none

ADABAS databases on node %COMPUTERNAME% :

12 GENERAL_DATABASE active (default)
13 GENERAL_DATABASE inactive (default)

I don’t think DBA Workbench is installed. When I try to run startdba I get "Windows cannot find ‘adadba’

Someone in another thread suggested running SYSEXPG->READX01. I get the same NAT3148 error running it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ken

ADASHOW reports that DB 12 is active but the 3148 means that Natural can’t connect to it. Is DB 12 running on the same machine as Natural CE?

ADADBA is not available. It was deprecated several releases ago. Adabas Manager is its replacement.

Yes, DB 12 is running on the same machine. As part of the CE install, ADABAS is installed and the demo database is created. I just ran the stock CE install, where all the responses were scripted, and have not done anything post-install other than running Natural.