EntireX as web service? How? Samples?

I am new to EntireX. I’m going thru reams of documentation, java / web / xml examples etc, but none of them deal with building a web-service & calling the broker to get info from the mainframe.
We’re able to do it via an Access application. We want to do it with a web service instead… Can anyone point me to a link or some code somewhere :slight_smile: ?

Thanks
Jason Shohet 212-863-6481

Hi Jason,

refer to your earlier posting. I sent you a response with more details. Have a look at Response to 1’st Posting

EntireX also provides some code examples with the default installation. Please refer to the following directory: C:\Program Files\Software AG\EntireX\Examples\XML Wrapper

There is simple example called “calc”. The original IDL file, as well as natural subprograms are provided under the followin directory: C:\Program Files\Software AG\EntireX\Examples\DCOM Wrapper\calc

Ask one of your mainframe colleagues to upload these Natural subprograms and create a sample RPC service for you. If that is not possible use the calc IDL file and create a Java RPC server program. You can start the RPC Server on your machine locally and then test your web service as if it was the mainframe.

I’m including a sample command file and attaching a properties file that will show you how to start the JAVA RPC Service. To do this you will have to start a Broker instance on your development machine. Let me know if you need help in starting creating and configuring a Broker instance.

Command File:
java -Dentirex.server.properties=rpcserver.properties com.softwareag.entirex.aci.RPCServer

Let me know if you need additional information.

Regards
Theo

DOCUMENTATION LACKING?