Database to edi

Hello all,
Im new to webMethods and here im with a problem which is draining me.Im successful in inserting the required data from edi(850) into database(SQL SERVER).Now i want to know whether i can gat an edi document from the database values i have inserted.Please let me know this.Thanks in advance…

Nivas

Nivas,

EDI document cannot be directly created from database,first you need to retrieve/extract the database values and then do mapping of individual values to appropriate EDI segments to prepare the final edi docume.

Regards,

RMG,
thanks for ur reply.but can u please be more specific.

RMG,

RMG,

Regards

Nivas,

You need to query the source data from database which gives the results as a recordlist set in webMethods.Then map these values to (EDI50)record structure (segment mapping)what ever fields you specification require and finally using WmEDI package there are some built-in services available like(convertToString,addICEnvelope,addGroupEnvelope) which helps to create the EDI document.

There are lot of discussions done in this forum,about creating the EDI document,basic services to use.Please use the search functionality.

BTW which version of webMethods/EDI you are using?

Regards,

Nivas,
Checkout the webMethods provided wmEDISample packags. they have shown how to convert XMl(DB values) into EDI and EDI859 and vice versa.
It will be really help.
If this does not work let me know I will give you mapping services.

vikram,
examples in wmEDISample package r lil confusing.can u help me in this.Im trying to convert the values from database to edi.i first extracted the values from the database and then used the service convertToString.Please tell me what to do next.

Thanks,

Nivas,

Is this inbound or outbound EDI to you? I’m assuming outbound application (database) to EDI but please confirm.
What version of wm are you using?
Exactly what have you done so far?
Do you have an Idata object that represents your application file?