Steps to convert IDOC to EDI Flat file

I am new to Business Connector. We have a requirement over here to send the iDocs from SAP to BC, convert the iDoc to standard EDI format and FTP or email the same. Till now, I installed the Business Connector successfully, configured necessary things in SAP and BC to send and receive the iDocs. I can see in Business Connector server that iDocs are being received. Now I am need to convert this to EDI flat file.

I am not clear with the service “restorePipelineFromFile”. What is the pre-requisite for using this service?
I have created a routing rule in server using B2B transport. In the BC Developer i have the transport service created. I can see MAP and Transport service: Outbound Process(Dont change the label of this node) in the developer screen. I have transport service and transport params in the pipeline in and pipeline out.

Could anyone please guide me further.

Narasimha,

When the IDOC is sent to BC,did it invoke the service you have created?if so,use pub.sap.idoc:decodeSDATA and pub.sap.idoc:transformFlatToHierarchy services to convert the IDOC into IDATA object.and now map the required fields to the document type which you are converting to(for eg:if you want to generate a 850 EDI, you have this doc structure in the WmEDI package).and then invoke addGroupEnvelope and addICEnvelope to convert it into EDI format.
Go through the SAP BC and EDI documentation.it is clearly described.
hope this helps.

ramesh.

Narasimha,

Please do search in the forums before you post there are lot of threads discussed on this topic,you willl see step by step procedure of IDCO to EDI or EDI to IDOC.It will help you keep moving the work and let this forum know when you struck.

Sections to see:webMethods for EDI Module,ThirdPartyModule…

Also read the doc’s as mentioned above.

HTH,
RMG

Hi,
Thanks for your reply.
Yes i have gone through the previous threads but still am caught up.