WebMethods Performance Testing

Hi,
I am very new to webMethods. I dont have any idea about performnce testing the WM. Please help me out with these very basic question:

1. How we have to do the performance testing of WM?
  2. Can LR be used for this purpose
  3. What exactly we will be doing for performance testing. i.e WM is an integration tool .Scripts and load will be generated for the source (subscriber) or for WM?
    Please provide a proper reference for performance testing of WM so that I can come on proper track.

Hi Disha,

I don’t know how other users do testing, but I will write you how I usually do it.

1. We are testing in few ways:
    a) The simplest way is to run service from developer with different inputs. If you have triggered service you can publish documents from some dummy services created just for testing.
    b) Creating dummy services in some testing package
    c) Invoking service by SOAP (try use this: [url]http://www.soapui.org/[/url])
    d) Creating java framework that will automatically call your services with different inputs
    e) To do capacity testing you can use JMeter ([url]http://jakarta.apache.org/jmeter/[/url])
    f) Creating tool using in dsp pages (webMethods web API)

2. I don’t know what is LR …

3. Usually you will want to test webMethods services functionality, so you can create code to test and check for expecting results e.g. for correct response messages, publish documents (please look for document tracker for that), log files and database. You can do checking results manually or create code for do it automatically.
    We had code in java to do invoke (by publishing, soap or directly remote invoke services at webMethods) and automatically check for result at response, logs and database. To do it in java you can read documentation about java API to webMethods.

I hope I helped.

Regards,
Lukasz Konkol

Thanks Lukasz for the support,