Upgrading from 6.5 to v8

Hi,

We are planning to upgrade to v8 from 6.5 without the inter-mediate hop on v7. So now I’m in hunt for information regarding upgrade. Our current architecture consists of IS 2 nodes in cluster, 1 broker, MyWebMethods Server and TN. Most number of the interfaces are interacting with SAP and file transfers, few EDI interfaces constitute to the rest of interfaces.

I’m new to handling a migration. Request anyone who has attempted this direct migration or have experience in migrations to give me some insight as to how to go about it such as any default steps to be followed. Obviously installation would be the first step and I have found enough documentation on installation and configuration, there shouldn’t be much problems in it.

1. But after installing, would just migrating the packages, routing rules, database connections work or should we re-code/re-design the interfaces in v8?

My client is also looking to have the new v8.0 on virtual server architecture with 2 servers, one as a DR, after a little googling and searching thru forums, found the VMware is one of the answers to it. More digging on this later but for now I need to come up with…

[INDENT]2. Best practices in Architecture.
3. Upgrade approach.
[/INDENT]So please bear with me if the questions sound so basic and would greatly appreciate if anyone could throw some light on this.

Regards,
Suren.

Hi,

Our organization is also looking for same kind of upgrade.

We have 6.5 IS version and are looking to upgrade to 7.1.2 and also considering 8.0 SP1.we have SAP adapter 4.6 version which doesn’t run on ART.