SAP ALE

Hi

I have no previous experience in Interface developement with SAP system would appreciate if someone could share their knowledge.

In a intergration involving pushing data from a SQL server Order Table to a SAP system as IDOC .

SQLServer =>SAP (idoc)

what i have understood is that we need to create a SAP ALE Adapter(Server) will be used for this purpose and use ALEProcessInboundOperation Configured operation to create the idoc.

The Sap process will pick up the IDOC in a asynch fashion.

If someone could share their experience it will be very helpfull

Regards
Arun.

I assume that the inbound data feed is from SQL Server inserts…therefore, do an insert notification for source integration component, and map to canonical document and pass it to target integration component (SAP IC), and publish to SAP.

Jay,

Can you give an overview of how the SAP adapter(ALE Clinet will work) because that are alone is grey to me. I have done EAI interface Implementation using other resources like Oracle / SQL server.

I dont have a SAP System in my dev environment so i am trying to visualize the process to get a basic understanding of how the interfacing with the SAP System will be(Based on the SAP ALE Adapter documentation and the SAP details from the help.sap.com) . Please help me in getting an understanding of it.

The SAP integration will typically involve
Creating a configurede operation (ALEProcessInboundOperation).
I will specify the IDOC type whether the document is BASIC type / EXTENSION type , Message Type and the Logical System (SAP APP Server). The IDOC Field information will shown automatically in the field area.

So when we incorporate the Confiigured operation in the Integration Component Flow we will be able to Map the SAP IDOC fields with the document published by the SQLSERVER.

The SAP ALE Client Adapter will send the IDOC to the SAP server which will then be picked up by a Background process.