Referencing child strings of a document list

Hi All,
I’m new to webMethods and I am stuck at something very basic.

I want to loop around the output of wm.server.ns:getPackages which is a document list and assign the pkg_name to a string. The loop works but although I can see the package names in the variables window I cant seen to get at the string values. I guess I need to map the Packages[i] to a document but have tried many attempts unsuccesfully. I must be missing something obvious.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Frank.

Welcome to SAG webMethods :slight_smile:

Can you let me know the version of webMethods you are using (I can provide you some start off tips)

Can you let me know you are requirement in brief? so that I can help you.

Flow logic should be something like

inputs: NA
output: Doc list (packages) under this you can have two string variables pkg_name and pkg_type

Call wm.server.ns:getPackages
Loop over /packages
Inside loop you can have a MAP step (Map output of wm.server.ns:getPackages to your output)

I hope it wont be clear but anyways feel free to ask us anytime :slight_smile:

Hi Manesh,
Thanks for replying.

webMethods 8.2
I’ve attached a word doc with some screen shots.

I had coded the flow service as you suggested and I can see the repeating ‘packages’ nodes, each with it’s two child nodes but no matter what format of path I use (in a debug step) or element I try to map I cannot get at the values. As you can see in the variables window, the values are there.

I’ve tried %pkg_name%, %packages/pkg_name% and %/packages/pkg_name% and checked ‘variable substitution’ but I always see the name of the variable and not the value. 2nd screen shot is of the server logs.

Please try it yourself and if you can get a degub or a map to work let me know either the path or format of duocument you’ve had to create to map the packages nodes to.
Thanks again for your help.
Frank.

screenshots.docx (426 KB)

Hi,