JDBC Adapter Notification Buffer Tables

In webMethods , do the Buffer database tables where the JDBC Adapter records Notification data, have to be in and on the same database as the tables the Notification is monitoring? Or can they be on a different database server of a different RDBMS vendor. Thanks.

These notification tables are created when you create a notification on a particular tables in a database and they have to be in the same database. I personally had some bad experience of tables getting corrupted when i tried to move them to a different database in a MSSQL 2005 DB.

In the end my notifications were not working and I had to recreate them after running the service deletePollingNotification. I am not sure about the case with Oracle or other DB’s.

Cheers,
Akshith

Hi akki,

Can you tell me more about the buffer tables. I am completely new to this concept. My requirement is that we need to send any changes in a table to the trading partner. For that I have suggested the client to use the Buffer table concept and wM will use adapter notification. But What are actually the buffer tables? Who creates them?

I have told the client that they have to create a buffer table similar to main table and send the changes to this table, so that wM will pick as part of polling. Is this correct?

Also, If we are doing a full refresh. Can adapter notification can handle this? Please let me know.

thanks
David.

David,

Its been a while i worked on JDBC notifications and hope nothing changed in the recent versions (8.x) of the product.

When ever a JDBC notification is created it creates a corresponding buffer table in the Database where you have set the notification to poll on. These tables are auto created by WM.