Help on Creating the Processing Rule for EDI in TN

Hi experts,

I’m new to webMethods, I had gone thru the EDIforTN User guide and installed the Templates, schema and Doc Type for X12 4010 850 standard. Now i want to create the processing rule for this EDI standard.

I had logged in TN console and in Document Types i had found that there are 3 document types are created such as X12 850, Envelope and Group. Now i dont understand which one to be used for creating the Rule.

Pls help in creating the Processing Rule. also do we need to difine the seprate External ID for EDI to the Partners.

Thanks in Advance

Uday

Please also expalin me how the process flows once the TN receives the document.

Where can i find the information on various segments of X12 4010 Record or any other EDI Schema Record

Uday,

The 3 document types was a little confusing to me when I first started also. If you define your processing rule at the transacton set level (your X12 850), it will be invoked for every transaction. If you define it at the Envelope or Group level, it will be invoked just once which is a little cleaner (and less costly especially if you’re using a VAN). We create our EDI rules for the X12 Group.

Chapter 4.3 of the EDIforTN manual explains how to create the external IDs for each of your partners. You must ensure that these IDs and qualifiers match the IDs and qualifiers in the ISA and GS segments of your EDI documents, otherwise Trading Networks will ignore the document.