General Adabas / Natural Questions

Hello! i’m new to the software ag world and i have a couple of questions:

1) Are there alternatives to the development enviroment under unix? can i use emacs to edit my natural programs?

2) the programs are stored on the database or as text files elsewhere?

3) Can i acces the adabase data from my c / cpp / other language program?

4) Can you point me to some source of free documentation relating the development procces / tools / related knowledge to start up ?

Thank you very much! :smiley:

1. Not at this time (but there has been discussion of an Eclipse plug-in).
  2. The source programs are stored as text in the src directory, but don’t touch outside of the Natural editor (see #1).
  3. Yes. But spell ADABAS correctly, por favor. The use of the incorrect spelling may cause bad perceptions of the person by others. 8)
  4. http://techcommunity.softwareag.com/ecosystem/documentation/

Thank you for your advise, and talking about perceptions, let me give you a friendly admonish too… maybe someone around here could think that you are a pedant don’t letting pass such a little mistake… One funny thing is that the spell checker on this forum do not recognise the word ADABAS!

Ok, maybe my question should had been HOW can i access my ADABAS data from a c/cpp program. :slight_smile:

Thank you!

PS: http://www.webster.com/cgi-bin/dictionary?sourceid=Mozilla-search&va=pedant
Etymology: Middle French, from Italian pedante
b : one who is unimaginative or who unduly emphasizes minutiae in the presentation or use of knowledge c : a formalist or precisionist in teaching

Point taken and understood.

However, I wanted to make you aware that there are those out there that make assumptions about those who spell it with the “e”. If you look at the SAG-L archives, this has happened before, and some of the comments are not nice.

Kind regards,
Ray

To be honest: I didn’t recognise the typo in your original post. I read over it…