Exception Handling

Hello, I’m relatively new to WM Development, and have a question about Error Trapping. I want to wrap a DB insert in a Try-Catch block, and when an error occurs (lets say for a null value insert into a not-null column), I want to format that error into a published error document. The problem I’m having is retrieving the exception error to use to populate my new document. Is there any way of accessing the exceptions error message from the catch side of a try-catch block?

Any help on this would be greatly apprecaited. I’ve scoured the wm advantage site, as well as the related program documentation but up to this point I’ve been unable to accomplish this task.

Step 1:
Declare a class level variable
private Exception adapterexception ;
Step 2:
In the scriptInvoke method assign the exception to this variable:
adapterexception = catchStepEx ;
Step 3:
Insert a custom step in the catch side and retrieve the error message into a String and return that variable which can be mapped to a field in an error event.
String errormessage = adapterexception.getMessage();

Hope this helps.

Siby Paul

Create a Variable

private String exceptionText = “”;

Create a CustomStep “ExposeException”. Specify Return type as Unicode String. Go to its Script and type the following

return exceptionText;

Go to your main Catch and get the error message in to exceptionText. Following is how to do that in the code.

public void
scriptInvoke(AdapterScriptAccess access,
AdapterTransaction transaction,
BrokerEvent input)
throws AdapterException, BrokerException
{
this.access = access;
this.transaction = transaction;
reset();

try { 
        operationStep(); 
        catchStepTry(); 
    } 
    catch (AdapterException catchStepEx) { 
        //Save the Exception here 
        exceptionText = catchStepEx.toString(); 
        exposeException(); 
        publishStep(); 
        catchStepCatch(); 
    } 

This should give you the ErrorText in the output