Using Natural Debugger in Batch ?

Hi All,

Can we use Natural Debugger for Batch programs?

I guess we can not take the control of the program from batch by setting up spies but if we will be able to get the logs of “call statstics” and “statement execution summary” then that would be sufficient.

Is their any way to do this?

Many Thanks,
Deeps

It is possible, by setting the debugging environment from an online session then saving it. You can then load that debug environment in batch before running your program. However it would be much easier and better to use the RDC facility instead. Look at the examples in library SYSRDC for more information.

Hi Darrell,

Thanks for replying. I have never used SYSRDC before, could you just brief me about this? Is this a utility?

Also for setting up debugging environment for batch.Do you mean to say load that environment and then run the job. If this is the case I’m not sure how the control will go from a job to natural debugger. Could you add a little more words to your explanation?

Thanks a lot, Deeps

Deeps, Sorry for taking so long to reply. I don’t logon to this forum as often as I should. For the RDC information, you can look in library SYSRDC. It contains example programs. It is all very simple stuff. You can execute the modules there without worry. Be sure your session has RDCBUFF set greater than 2, or RDC cannot work. Estimate about 1K buffer for every 10 or 12 traced activities. More information on RDC is in the Utilities manual. For batch Debugger, set up the traces you want while you are in an online session, then save the settings with a unique name (use the "E Debug environment maintenance " option on the top-level menu). If my memory is working… When running the batch environment, put the following into your CMSYNIN stream before you EXECUTE your program:

TEST ON
TEST E
L your-debug-environment-name