batch debugging

Hi all,

I need to debug a Natural batch program. I have noticed methods like SYSRDC being mentioned at various places for the same, but since i am new to Natural i am not very sure how to use it or another method. Kindly let me know how this can be done, or If you could direct me to any document or site that has more detail on how to debugg natrual batch programs that would also help.

Thanks,
Raj

Hi Raj;

Since you are somewhat new to Natural, I will be careful to explain what this posting is all about. I typically use the term “batch index” (no. this is not a standard Software AG term), to indicate to what extent a program is “batch”. The index runs from 0 to 10. Zero is an online program. One is a program that could be online except for the existance of a single work file that contains some transaction records, of a single report that is being routed to a work file. Ten is a program that involves a bunch of input work files, and a bunch of output reports and perhaps many of these are used conditionally, etc. No, this is not a strict quantitative index, it is very much qualitative.

Suppose I have a one or a two. It is not difficult to transform such a program into an online program. For example, Suppose I have a single input workfile. I can define data such as:

1 #wf1-record (a300/1:5) init <'datadatadata '>
1 #wf1-index (i4)
1 #real-wf-record (a300)

Now, in my program, instead of a READ WORK FILE loop, I have something like

for #wf1-index = 1 to 5
     move #wf1-record (#wf1-index) to #real-wf-record

and now you have the code that would have existed in the READ WORK FILE loop.

Ideally, all you have to do to restore this to a batch program is change the above two statements to a READ WORK FILE statement and change the end-for to an end-work.