Using deployer to run a service from local integration server across multiple servers

Hi all,

This is my first post so apologies if it’s in the wrong place or asking the wrong question, i am also relatively new to webMethods.

I have been given a requirement to build a service that can be run on multiple servers from a central server. The service works perfectly on my local server and any other server it is deployed on. However, we have lots of servers and so are trying to avoid deploying the package on every server as it will take too much time/effort.

Is there any way to run the service that is contained on my local machine on any server that i have permission to access?

The route i have so far tried to follow is by altering the dsp files found within wmDeployer(into a new package), but can’t see how to get this working fully.

As further information about the service, it is a dsp itself that runs services inside the wmRoot package

Thanks

Chris

Hi Chris,

this depends on the business case of the service.
Can you describe this please?

Which version of wM are you on?
Can you give an approximate number of servers affected?

You can create a Target Group in Deployer containing the servers and then just deploy to this target group instead of to the separate instanced individually.

Deployer is not intended to invoke services on other instances except for deploying the artifacts by using the services in WmDeployerResource package.

Regards,
Holger

I could think of two ways…

1. Are these servers in cluster? If so, schedule execution of this service thru IS scheduler and you can choose the option run in all nodes of cluster.

2. If they are not in cluster, then you can make use of ‘remote server alias’ and there are few public services that can invoke service in remote servers.

Hope this helps…

Senthil

Thanks for your replies