Transaction Store vs Repo Server

I'm a newbie in webMethods. Actually we only have SAP Business Connector. The docos that came with SAPBC are very brief and incomplete. I've been playing around with using a backend database for transaction store and keeping data for our DSP pages.  I managed to set the alias alright and was able to connect to it. I followed the manual by creating tables WMTRANSACTIONS and WMTRANSACTION_Log.  When I ran some test data the two tables were not populated at all. I am now getting very confused as to what is a transaction store (message store?) and a repository server. What I observed was: 
  1. If you use registerStore and the put methods something got written in the xtn.log file in packages/WmPartners/config.
  2. new entries got created in the packages/WmPartners/pub/mailbox area when invoking a flow service that involves routing
  3. When change the repository setting and point it to an alias a directory WmRepository2 got created and files got written in it. One of them is DirValuesHash.dat and other files all have prefixes VH followed by a series of digits.
  4. When setting watt.PartnerMgr.xtn.store=db in server.cnf the entries in (3) were created in the backend database. The equivalent to DirValuesHash.dat is a table called WmRDBContainer and the other files become tables with WM as prefixes followed by a series of digits.

When examing the tables they all have columns valuekey, valuedata, valuelock etc. Can someone please explain what’s the difference between the xtn.log file and the WmRepository2 or the WmRDBContainer table. What are the entries in those objects? How are they being cleaned up? What are the entries in the mailbox area (I know this can be cleaned up using the SweeperTRX service).