START/STOP

I am new to ADABAS. We have a test DB for my learning purpose.

I connect to z/OS via extra.

Where should I issue the START command?

n.sd.log
/S nameOfdb

or

/F nameOfdb,ADAEND

Is log right place to initiate start or stop command?

Thank You

As I said in the other thread, you enter the commands to stop and start the database on the system console, but typically that function is performed by someone in systems operations, and the DBA is not granted such permissions. I don’t have that kind of access where I work.

Ask your systems operator to start or shut down your database, or run this MPM for a test db as a job.

This is essential for every DBA to know how to start or stop DB.

http://techcommunity.softwareag.com/ecosystem/documentation/adabas/ada823mfr/adamf/dbatasks/p1over.htm

This is like a hopeless Driver who does not know how to start or stop car and looking for his wife to start or stop.

My humble advice to you that “You should take the training soon”.

It’s a little bit different. It’s not that I don’t know how to start or shutdown the databases or other Software AG processes (e.g., EntireX Brokers, RPC Servers, Adabas SQL Gateway, Entire System Server nodes, etc). It’s that in mature mainframe computing environments, the power isn’t given all to a single person (no matter how much training or experience they have).

Question back to original (if u know please share ur knowledge).

I connect to z/OS via extra.

Where should I issue the START command?

n.sd.log
/S nameOfdb

or

/F nameOfdb,ADAEND

Is log right place to initiate start or stop command?

I have no idea what an n.sd.log file is in context with a z/OS mainframe environment. If this is some kind of input dataset to an automation script, then knowing which script is executed at system startup vs system shutdown is important.