SCM

I am new to webMethods and could be completely wrong here, but reading the documentation about how to versioning services/any code seems a bit peculiar to me. Is it really true that the only way you can integrate with a SCM is by zipping up files? What if I want to roll back a version of some java code I created? doesn’t sound too much to ask for to me. Maybe I am just not used to these integration platforms, but what happened to checking out a file from CVS fixing the code and checking it back in?

thanks Morten

Hi Morten,

this is already discussed in the Wish List Forum (Search for “Version Control”).

At the moment the only recommended way is to repeatingly create zip-files for your packages and store them in CVS. But there is an Appendix H in DeveloperGuide pointing to SourceControl.

webMethods has announced support for this feature in the upcoming webMethods 6.5 Platform scheduled for April 05.

Regards,
Holger

Could anybody possibly provide a little information on how this (the SCM Integration)is going to work? I’ll beta test it if necessary. This is a really big deal for us.

Hi,

sorry.

Unfortunatley we all will have to wait for the GA release.

FCS exists, but webMethods is very restrictive with its distribution.

Regards,
Holger

Well, that’s certainly webMethods perrogative. I suppose the deails of the SCM integration are either subject to change or a trade secret?

If I seem frustrated, I am. This is the single largest problem I have with the toolset and it does negatively impact the perception of the tools here at my organization. There’s a huge difference between saying “but they say it will have it in April” and saying “They’re delivering it in April and it will work this way”. The second one carries a great deal more weight, and may also give me some clue as to what I might do in preparation for this feature.

We use CVS on the packages in /packages/PackageName and that covers what we need to do.