RPC call between Natural on BS2000 and middleware

Hi all,
I would like to know if it’s possible to create RPC call from natural/adabas on BS2000 to send xml messages to an external middleware other than EntireX (on Windows)?

If possible, where can I find the related information?

Thanks in advance,

Thierry

No, RPC requires EntireX

Well, RPC requires EntireX, but if your external middleware accepts XML documents via HTTP you can run the XML RPC Server on Windows to do this job.

First of all thanks for you replies.

I’m brand new in mainframe’s and Software ag’s world…

Actually, the main prupose of my question is that I would like to produce XML messages from Natural and process them with the middleware.

At present, we are using EntireX as gateway between the mainframe and the middleware… which is quite stupid.

I’ve been thinking of producing the XML message straight from natural in transactional process, and the files would be accessed directly by the middleware.

We are using UTM interface and it seems that it’s impossible to produce files as explained hereabove…

If you have an idea about how to communicate, you’re welcome…

Cheers, Thierry

Hi Thierry,
Quote: "At present, we are using EntireX as gateway between the mainframe and the middleware… which is quite stupid. "
No it’s actually not that stupid (at least not for the time being ! )

If I understand you correctly you want the call to the middleware to be initiated from natural on BS2, and from my experience the UTM solution from Siemens (using UPIC or CPIC) are not much use here.
So until natural supports HTTP (which is on the roadmap for nat421) using EntireX is THE solution.
To my best knowledge you should be able to build up an full XML-document in one dynamic variable i natural and then have a .NET or java RPC-server on the windows-side that can pass on the XML to the other middleware (which one BTW?)