Reporting and Structured Mode

hello
I am studying on structured and reporting modes.

I found lots of information on help.

But one question remained: how to determine the mode for a library or program?

how this works in practice?

Reporting mode is “legacy” and there’s no reason to use it when creating new systems (Steve Robinson may want to “correct” me on that one), and usually one just sets structured mode on    globally

Although I never code in Reporting mode anymore, I still don’t recommend setting SM=ON in NatParms.

Despite the existence of nice tools like Object Handler, I often find that the quickest way to copy a module between machines/Fusers is to drag&drop onto my desktop or a flash drive. When you drag a module onto the target Fuser library, Natural presumes Reporting mode. If SM is set to ON, then you can’t open the new (Reporting Mode) module. And if SM is set to ON in NatParms, then you can’t set it to OFF within your Natural session.

A workaround would be to LIST the module, select all (ctrl-a), open a new module, and then paste (ctrl-v). Yuck!

I set SM=OFF in NatParms to allow editing of any module. I have an SM icon on my Natural Studio status bar, so Structured/Reporting modes are just a click away.

Right! If SM is ON via natparm you’re not able to set it OFF. It results in NAT1155.

BTW: We’re using report mode for setting WH dynamically.

SET GLOBALS WH=ON

This is valid report mode syntax for a natural program. But it won’t work in structured mode.

set globals works in structured mode (natural 6.3.12)

:shock: You’re right! Thank you for the hint. It also works on my NAT 6.3.9. But I’m quite sure that it didn’t work on former versions of natural.

To be honest, I don’t even remember when I last had to resort to Report Mode.

When I use SM 99% of the time I’d just make it the default and create a 2nd parameter
module with SM=OFF.

what better way to use the structured mode in 99% of objects
and a few report mode?