Regular Expression help

I

Have below value in a string variable.

<APP_ID>MMM</APP_ID>user <APP_ID>MPE</APP_ID>user
:::::
<APP_ID>ITT</APP_ID>xxxx

I want to replace highlighted string(XXXX) with a variable(Var1) from pipeline. The length of XXXX varies.

Wondering How it will be done using pub.string.replace function with the help of regular expression.

Thanks.

Why don’t you just overwrite the variable “Role” which variable “VAR1” in pipeline instead of using replace function?

Hi I am new to webMethods (3 days) but am familiar with regex. Provided you can backreference with the replace function and provided there is a single role element, you can replace the following:

(<ROLE>).*(</ROLE>)

with

\1YOUR STRING\2

and you should be good to go.

Looking at the built in services guide, it seems you can use backreferencing by specifying $1…$n, ie

$1YOUR STRING$2

In your case it looks like you would need to do some concatenation of your pipeline string as well to build the replacestring to look like above.

This is probably more for reference as it would seem the first reply asks a pertinent question.

Just adding to Chris’ point, the regex setting you probably need are:

Search string = (.+)>ITT</APP_ID><ROLE>.*?</ROLE>(.+)

Replace string = $1>ITT</APP_ID><ROLE>%Var1%</ROLE>$2
          (You need to check 'Perform Variable Substitution')

The important things about the regexs are the two backreferences ($1 and $2) and the “minimal greediness” setting for the .* pattern (“.*?”). For more on Regular expression pattern greediness, have a look at [url]Perl Documentation - Perldoc Browser (search for “greedy”)

As the previous posters mention, regexs are not the best choice (though this one should be safe if document is XML). If possible, convert the string to a record structure, manipulate the record, then convert it back to string.

Why not convert it to a document and then do a mapping from VAR1 to that particular ROLE?