Privacy of user passwords

I’m new to wM. I don’t understand why that only developer users can change their own passwords. If there are other users, such as application end users, their passwords are chosen and maintained by the Administrator(s), then there is no privacy. If there is no password privacy, we cannot hold the user account for what had been done by the user account. Is there a logic in wM implementation that I don’t understand, or this is wM’s limitation? Is that true that if password privacy is mandatory then we have to implement LDAP, or even personal certificates? Also, there is no expiry on password and/or account in wM.
User and password management is rather weak.

Annie,

These are great questions. You’re absolutely right that there are tradeoffs in users not being able to change their own passwords. One of the positives is that administrators can ensure that users have strong passwords (i.e., not their dog’s name). The biggest downside, as you note, is that the administrator knows everyone’s password.

The real motivation is that in a server-to-server environment, it doesn’t make sense for a server to be picking its own password. Developers can, however, change their own password using the webMethods Developer tool (it’s on one of the pulldown menus). See Chapter 2 of the Developer’s Guide for details.