installation - connecting to a database

Hi there
Hoping some one can help! I’m a complete newbie!

I went through the installation, and skipped the database connection as I had no DB setup as yet!
Afterwards i realised that it wont work without an embedded or external database.

I’ve installed MySQL server now, and now I’m a little confused as to what to do next.

I’m not sure if I need to configure the MySQL database or if the installer would have setup the database based on the integration servers requirements? I’m a bit confused on the next steps i should take.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

May I know the components that you intend to use in wM Product Suite?

To install the product tables you need to run the DCC (Database Component Configurator) and make sure it is installed on your sytem.

Hi Craig,

which version of wM are you running on?

Please note that 10.4 currently does not have an UI for DCC, only a CLI variant.

After creating the required tables in the database you can go to the IS Admin UI to configure the database pools.
For MWS go to MWS/server/default/configuration and check for the mws.db.xml to switch the database schema.

Using the embedded database is quite limited to very few functions, i.e. MWS is only alloed for Monitoring the IS when running on embedded database and IS can only use ISInternal functions, CrossReferencing and DocumentHistory.

Most other functions will require an external database.

Regards,
Holger

1 Like

Thanks everyone for the reply’s.

I took a different approach.
I created my test database using Microsoft SQL 2014. Within the integration server, i setup a JDBC connection and was able to successfully connect.

Great! But JDBC Adapter connection is different from the JDBC Pools.

1 Like

Hi Holger,

Hope you are doing well…!

I am a developer and very limited knowledge on the setup but i am trying to install the product on my own.