Informix Database Adapter

Hi,

I am new to webMethods. I have problems setting up my database adapter for informix on Solaris. I have specified all the parameters required as per the Database Adapters manual. But, I get an error saying “The INFORMIXSERVER value is not stated in the sqlhosts file or the Registry”. The sqlhosts file looks fine… I have an entry for the informix server I am trying to connect to with all the details. And the INFORMIXSERVER environment variable has been set up to the correct value as well. That doesn’t seem to help… Any ideas on what the problem could be?

Hmmm.

A few tips on getting an adapter running:

1. Verify the connection information. Usually before i try to set up an adapter, i try connecting to the resource from the machine where the adapter will be. So, for example, i will use SQLPLUS to access a database. This ensures that the resource can be contacted from your potential adapter location, as well as verifying that you have the proper environment setup and login credentials. Once i have successfully connected using resource client connection methods, then i move to the adapter.

2. If your adapter does not start, try starting it in debug mode from the adapter_config tool. The adapter process will generally not run as “you”, it will run as whichever user the adapter monitor process starts the adapter as (the default for NT is System Account, the default for Unix is bin*). The exception to this rule is when the adapter is running in debug mode (sic. from within the adapter_config tool, that is). When in debug mode, the adapter process runs as the user that started the process. So, if your adapter does not run in regular mode, but will start in debug mode, there is an environment discrepancy between the user that kicked off the process in debug, and the user that normally runs the adapter process.

2a) Typical discrepancies are: environment variables (e.g. Paths, Libs), and permissions (in Unix, mostly).