How to get partnerID

Hi,
I am a newbie to TN, I am trying to go through WmTnSamples.
The first sample I study is wm.tn.samples.addaddress:addAnAddress
Here are some questions:

1. After creating a new parnter using ‘Profile Assistant’ in TN console, how can I get the partner ID for wm.tn.profile:getProfileSummary?
  2. Where to set username and password for partner to login to TN? Or anyone can send document to TN?
  3. There are two places to create partner in TN console, one is ‘Trading Partners’>>’New Trading Partner’, another is ‘Tools’>>’Profile Assistant’, what are the differences?
    Thanks!

Yu,

1. You can get the partner ID by first running wm.tn.profile:getProfileSummaries. This will list all profiles. Find the one you want. The value that you’re looking for is the ProfileID.
  2. TN requires you to define a required ID type, for example, DUNS. When you create a profile, you then must provide this value. Once you save the profile, behind the scenes TN creates a user account (where username = ID) in the TNPartners group. You can then change the password for that user account to whatever you want by using the IS Administrator page and going to ‘Users and Groups’.
  3. There really isn’t any difference. The Profile Assistant works more like a wizard taking you step by step whereas the other one works more like a form and lets you fill in all the blanks. The end result is the same.

Thanks,
Percio

Yul,

By the way, another way of getting the partnerID, would be to invoke wm.tn.profile:getInternalID. If you already know the partner that you’re looking for and you know at least of one the partner’s external IDs (for example, DUNS), you can use that service by setting id to the external ID you already know (ex. the DUNS number) and idTypeDesc to the type of ID (ex. “DUNS”). Refer to the TN Built-In Services Reference Guide for more details.

• Percio

Hi Percio,

Thanks a lot for your prompt reply.