I think that is the expected behavior. Once you have enabled and used a process, that checkbox before the Process Name will be disabled.
-> If you are absolutely sure that this particular process you want to delete is already redundant and doesn’t serve any purpose, the way to delete it is to manually remove it’s traces from Process Audit Database (there are about 15 or so related tables). Make really sure that all references related to that particular process are cleaned up otherwise it might create problems (I pressume that your DBA will do this clean up - unless you’re in a DEV environment).
-> Otherwise, you can always opt for the safest which is disabling the particular process from:
MWS > Administration -> Buisness -> Business processes -> Edit Process – Execution Enabled (uncheck).
Once a process is disabled, rest assure that Process Engine will not create a new instance of that process.
Note: Deleting the related entries for a process from Process Audit Database doesnt automatically delete the process you designed and developed from the Designer tool.
-> It’s worth to remember that when clicking the “Build and upload for execution” button from the Designer, this prompts IS to save the related information into the Process Audit Database.
You can check this piece of information related to Managing a Business Process from:
7-2-Getting_Started_with_Business_Process_Management.pdf (sorry, I’m still looking where to find this doc in 8.x). You can also check: http://techcommunity.softwareag.com/ecosystem/documentation/.
Hope this helps.