Differences between Process Engine DB and Process Audit Log DB

Hi,

I’ve been reading a lot of documents for understanding but I can’t understand it, I’m new with it!!

Could anybody please explain me what is the difference between the Process Engine Database and Process Audit Log Database, I know that both have different tables but I don’t know exactly what is the difference.

Thanks a lot! :slight_smile:

Hello,
As per my knowledge on wM 8.2 technical architecture ( I am sure there must be some change for the latest version),

Integration Server (IS) is the container for the PE which provides process orchestration of all business process steps including the work flow tasks steps (task engine).Process Engine (also task engine) db schema is used to store persistent or transient state information. Integration Servers log service data and documents to the IS Core Audit Log database.

Process Engines log data for webMethods-executed processes to the Process Audit Log database. Process Engine Built-In Services can be found in WmPRT package.

The Process Engine controls the run-time execution of business processes. The Process Engine is a webMethods Integration Server package that you install on every Integration Server that is used to run steps in a business process.

ProcessAudit => Process audit log data (Process data)
ProcessEngine => IS core audit log data (Services, Documents).

Also there is a technical architecture workshop conduced by SAG training team which will give you the existing system architecture and current documentation does not cover all the aspects (as per my opinion).

Thank for your explanation!!

That means… when I Build and Upload a process, all that information(process, steps, documents, services,etc) are going to be saved in 3 different schemas(Process Engine DB, IS Core Audit Log DB and Process Audit Log DB) in its respective schema for every kind of information.

Thanks again!