DevOps CI/CD With Integration Server 10.5

Hi, I am just getting back into webMethods after a few years away (version 8.22 was the last version I was heavily involved with).

I have been asked to look at how we can implement a DevOps CI/CD approach for integration server services, mostly Flow services, using Git and Azure DevOps and I have a few questions that I am hoping someone will be able to help me with.

1. Can I integrate with Git without having the ability to create a local development project (we are not licensed for local development)?

2. How can I incorporate unit testing as part of the build process without using WmTestSuite (again a licence constraint). Can we use something like JUnit?

3. What does a build do in relation to flow services as there is no compilation as they are XML files.

Apologies if these seem like obvious questions but I’m new to DevOps as well as learning the new capabilities in IS since 8.22.

Thank you in advance.

Hi Julian,

in generally this should be possible.

Regarding your concrete questions:

1. Yes integration with Git is possible without LocalServiceDevelopment, but only for ProcessModels, UIs, Events, BusinessRules, but not for FlowServices etc (anything which is directly developed in a Package and not generated like BPM implementation).
    AFAIK, LocalServiceDevelopment is now part of the Suite by default without requiring an explicit license since 9.x.

2. We have done something like that with a custom JBehave-Implementation (custom because we wanted to have it in german instead of english) using the JavaAPI of IS, TN, PE etc. running in Jenkins on a Tomcat-Instance with writing additional testing helpers like driver and stub services simulating the Partner Endpoints.
    You can explore the download section of the community, there was a Junit-Sample-Package as well as a WmUnit-Package (but this one might not be publicly available) earlier if I remember right.

3. Which build function are you referring to?