Convert Recordlist to XML doc validate w schema

I’m also new to Integrator. I’ve searched all the docs and conversations but I still need a little help!

I have a flow - 1st step calls a BAPI in SAP - there is a resulting Recordlist. At first I took the easy road and created an XML output template to send the data to the calling client. This worked until one of the values contained an “&”! So, I think what I need to do now is to add steps to actually create the XML document by mapping from Recordlist. I have created a schema and imported into BC as a BC Schema - but I am unsure what to do next. Is there a predefined service I should use? pub.web.recordToDocumet looks like the right service except that I don’t see how to selectively map fields from the recordlist into a predefined schema.

Thanks for any guidance you can give me.

Tracy

When you created the schema did you create a matching record? If not, you’ll need to.

Then map from your record to the new XML record. The make a call to documentToRecord and map your XML record into boundnode. Make sure you specify the fully qualified name of your record in the recordName varible (folder.subfolder:record). If you want empty tags for nulls then set generateRequiredTags to “true”.

Check out the Built In Service Guide for more details. There is a link to in under Help in the Developer.

Hope this helps.

Theo

No i didn’t but i’ll do that. so, i iterate over each record in the Recordlist, map to the XML record, then map from that to the XML schema? I have the 5 pages on the recordToDocument in front of me - and one thing that remains a bit confusing - it says that it can either generate an XML fragement OR a legal XML doc - but if you want a legal XML doc (with one root schema node) it can only produce it for ONE record (boundnode). Perhaps I should just add the declaration, ns, and schema tags manually, and use the recordToDocument to create the fragments for each record. Sound logical?