Changes don't stick?

I am new to Tamino, and still trying to figure things out. One thing that I’m having trouble with is writing changes to some documents. Specifically, these are either attribute replacements or inserts.

What happens is that they appear to succeed. I can then hit the database with an XQuery or externally via a web app. Either way, the change appears to be applied. But a few minutes later, it reverts to the original value, rolling back my change.

Why is it doing this? What can I do to make it stick? I didn’t read anything about committing transactions in the documentation. Help.

Here are two examples:

Hi,

seems as if you do these changes in a transaction and never send a commit. In this case, the transaction is timed out and rolled back. So how do you send your queries to Tamino?

regards

Harald

Well that’s the point. I didn’t knowingly embed these in a transaction. But even more, why would it appear to commit them for a time if that was the case? If the transaction doesn’t complete, they should never appear in the database.

That point aside, I’m doing these in the XQuery tool. Shouldn’t I be able to expect that to do the right thing? Or am I missing something?

Thanks much.

This is a rather urgent issue. If someone could lend me a clue I’d really appreciate it!

I did a bit of quick testing with my local database and could not reproduce the behaviour you describe using either the Tamino XQuery tool or the Tamino Interactive Interface. Once an update was completed, it stayed put.

However, the number of instances per pack option does affect the transaction created.