Basic Mapping using webMethods

Hi,

I have been working in Gentran Integration Suite (GIS) for EDI mappings. Now our project wants to migrate to webMethods. I am very new to this technology and installed the WM in the system. I have some idea in WM Developer.

I want to know how we can translate a simple 850 x12 inbound file using a corresponding map in WM. Basically, i need to know the following things.

1. How can we create a map in WM corresponding to that we have in GIS
  2. How can we translate the input file using that map
  3. How can we get the translated output.

I went through a lot of documents. But nothing helps from the scratch. It would be great and appreciable if anybody can share the knowledge in a bit detail and simple language or provide me a very good document which is really helpful for a beginner.

Thanks,
Faris

What you want to is quite doable but can have a steep learning curve.
You can not equate development in GIS to development in wm.

Get some training.
Read the docs.
Look at the Samples provided in sample packages.
Search this group as the topic has been discussed many many times.

Faris,

I believe your webMethods IS environment installed EDI Module that includes WmEDI,WmEDIForTN,WmEDISamples packages.

As a starter please look into the WmEDISamples package and look under the Tutorial folder (EDIToXML and XMLToEDI it explains in detail for 850 mapping flows) and also sampleServices folder(X12ToValues)mapping.

Regarding webMethods EDI documentation look inthe webMethods Server file system path is (packages/WmEDI/doc you will see the PDF’s here).

Please use the search functionality provided in this site regarding webMethods EDI world stuff,you will find many clues.

Goodluck,

Thanks Chris and RMG!!

i will try to explore these packages.

Regards,
Faris

Hi,