Applinx Tweaking in Linux

I would appreciate any ideas with the following:

We run Applinx 5.2.4 in a Linux partition on an IBM mainframe. Also Suse 9, Apache Tomcat 5.0.19, and IBM Java 1.4.2. Some of our Applinx enabled programs return a huge amount of data for a table to be displayed. Every so often we get a Java OutOfMemory error.

In the catalina.sh file we have:
CATALINA_OPTS=" -server -Xms2048m -Xmx2048m -Xincgc -Xcompactgc"

In the start-gxserver.sh file we have:
$JAVA_HOME/bin/java -Xmx1024m -Xcompactgc -Xbootclasspath/p:“$_BCP”
-classpath “$_CP” “-Dcom.sabratec.gxhome=$GXHOME”
“-Dcom.sabratec.license=$SAG/common/LKey/”
com.sabratec.applinx.server.runtime.GXServerContextStart &

Total RAM for the Linux partition is 4024mb.

What would be the most efficient way to maximize my heap size to give it the most space to allow for our huge data tables? I have tried many variations, but the above seems to be the best. Since I am no Linux expert, I know it can be improved. Suggestions are most welcome.

Thanks,

Joe

Hi Joe,
I remember this case.
Last time you told me you cannot upgrade the JVM because of OS limitation. Is that still the case?
According to this article - Java SDK

IBM has JVM 1.6 and 1.5 for z/os. If you can please upgrade your JVM

Hi Asaf,

I am trying to get our Mainframe outsourcer to upgrade the Java, but I am having some resistance. I will get it done, just not immediately. I have zipped the logs and the gxz as you requested, but I am getting this message:
“Sorry, you have reached your maximum Upload Quota Limit of 2 MB”. The file is only 258KB. How can I get the zipped fille to you?

Thanks,

Joe

Never mind. I deleted some old items and got the attachment up.
Logs.zip (258 KB)

Hi Joe,
I cannot see the zipped file - were you able to upload it?

Now I can.
I’ve download the files and we will take a look and let you know.
Thanks.

Hi,
We saw here that Tomcat got out of memory.
Please send us the files

Hi Asaf,