Throwing Exceptions on Natural/OS390

Hi,

i’m new to entirex and this may seem a silly question, but here it goes.

using the .net wrapper i’m calling several natural programs on os390 and it works fine.

the question is, how do i provoque an error in my natural program so that the broker will throw an exception that i can catch in my .net client ?

something like in .net 'throw new ApplicationException(“this is a message that i want to pass from natural/os3900 to .net because of business constraints”); '

TIA
Luis Azedo

Hi Luis,

it depends on the type of error you want to test against. If you want to test the way your .NET program handles Broker exceptions, then it is quite easy. You could simply NOT register your RPC Server. When you issue a call to the non-registered service, you should receive the standard “00070007 - Service not registered” error message (this is the exception thrown by Broker).

If you would like to “throw” exceptions from you Natural program, based on business logic within your Natural application, then you might want to add an additional output field in your IDL file. You could name this field something like “App_Return_Code” or something like that and define it as a alpha field.

If you do throw and exception in your Natural program you can populate the proper message in this “App_Return_Code” field and based on the contents you can decided how to proceed.

I sometimes include an additional integer field as well, to make the error checking easier on the client side.

Here is an example of such an IDL file:

Library ‘AMS’ Is
Program ‘AMS001N’ Is
Define Data Parameter
1 order-id-nbr (n10) in out
1 order-type (a10) in out
1 rltd-order-id-nbr (n10) in out
1 order-rltd-type-cd (a5) in out
1 bsns-id-nbr-byr (n10) in out
1 order-sgnd-nm (a35) in out
1 cnctct-phone-nbr (a10) in out
1 user-id-ordr-vldtr (a8) in out
1 return-error (n4) out
1 return-messsage (a70) out
End-Define

Hope this helps. If not, let me know.

Regards
Theo

Hi Theo,