store runtime variable

Hi I am new to webMethods …is it possible to store certain parameters within the flow when the flow is invoked that can be reused when the flow is re-invoked.
Problem is the same file gets sent and processed one after the other.I want to avoid it by checking in the flow if the file got just processed thru the flow.

Hi,

Re-invoked in the same transaction or at a later time, after a day or week?

You can add a flag or a temp variable and set it to ‘Y’ after processing for the first time, and look for this flag before processing the second time.

HTH.

S

S

thanks smathangi for your reply.
How and where do I store this flag and how do I retrieve back…I guess once the flow service finishes execution, all the variables are dropped(Garbage collected).
I figured I could use clearPipeline with preserve list to store my variables…but don’t know somehow using this way when I re-invoke the same flow, variables in the preserve lists are found to be not stored.
any more ideas…or steps that I need to follow…

Hi,

What’s ur exact requirement … what kind of file you are trying to process… does this flow have any trading network link… i.e. duplicate detection can be used??

please elaborate then we can suggest some solution. Unfortunately i havn’t understood much out of the problem description.

-nD

Unless you’re storing that variable somewhere persistent (disk, static memory var, pub.storage store, etc.) then this will not work. Simply setting a pipeline var will not be carried over to subsequent runs of a service.

If you need to track files to know if you’ve already processed them, then you’ll need to store that info somewhere. Preferrably a DB table.

Can you describe your process? Are you picking up files from a directory? If so, what do you do with them after you’ve processed them? The easiest thing may be to simply move or delete the file so that it doesn’t get picked up in the next run.

Thanks for the reply.