SOAP request: Java Service using Web Service Connector

Hi,

I’m new to webMethods but worked a lot with WS* technologies.

I wrote a small Java Service in the Developer. This Java Service has an input called a and an output called b.

The Service just takes the input a and concatenates it with another variable and outputs it, quite simple :slight_smile:

Then I generated a WSDL file based on that Java Service. Quite nice because it has little overhead, not like other WSDL Generation tools. I have a operation called Test and this operation has an input TestInput and an output TestOutput. Im using SOAP RPC.

TestInput is described as a message with a single part called a and respectively TestOutput encapsulates the b part.

I think that seems to be correct as webMethods made the biggest part for me. Now the strange behavior:

When I test the service inside the Developer, it pops up the window for input parameters: nice I can type my parameter a and the port and it responds with b (concatenated with a). So the Java Service is being called and the Web Service Connector works, passing variables.

Then I wrote a Java Client to send a SOAP message to this service. It responds to my request, but the variable that should be concatenated is lost somewhere or not bound to the service. With other words, the SOAP body in the request is lost. The Web Service Connector was generated automatically, what do I need to change so the request can be read correctly?

It also works when invoking via Browser as GET:
http://localhost:xxxx/invoke/test.testPortType/Test?a=blabla

It concatenates the blabla value of the variable a to the output.

The problem is when I pass the SOAP Request via the Java Client. Do I need to parse the variables using another step when calling it by a SOAP RPC passed via an external application?

Thanks and Bye,
Thomas

Can you post (as attachments) your WSDL and the soap request that your are sending.