SOAP Handler question

Hi All,

I am very new to webMethods and ESB, so I imagine (or rather I hope) there is an easy answer to this question which I have simply missed through inexperience…

Here’s a little background: I work for a company, who in turn uses a third party external provider as a “portal”; they hold the WSD/WSDL for a web service which they have published for us, in order to provide connectivity between external software packages and our systems. The end users of this provider send their web service call to the provider, who manage and host the WSD externally to our systems, and forward the SOAP message over http direct to our application servers. We are currently handling the SOAP messages using a customised SOAP Handler, but now want to do this using web methods, on the Integration Server…

At the moment, I cant see a way of calling a service in webMethods (one capable of handling a SOAP message) externally other than if I have exposed the service as a web service within webMethods… the problem is that the messages we currently get forwarded from the external provider wont be in the correct format to interract with the WSD that gets created by default within webMethods. So, I am hoping there is a simple way of defining a service in webMethods 7.1 (later moving to version 8.0) which can just behave as a SOAP Handler to the outside world, rather than the handler having to be defined as part of a WSD?

I hope my description of the above scenario makes sense; sorry if my terminology is a little light, I havent really worked much with web services at the lower level; the WSD/WSDL side of things has always been handled by the third party.

Any help much appreciated, many thanks in advance…

Leo,