SelectSQL Adapter service in a Flow Service

I am trying to query the database and make an xml document out of the resultSet received and write the same to a file. But it is not executing properly.

The flow I have designed is:

• Adapter Service
  • LOOP over /results

startloop

• Copy result to a tempDoc
  • Generate a XML String from tempDoc using pub.xml:documentToXMLString
  • Convert the said string to bytes using pub.string:stringToBytes
  • Write to a file using a Java Service called ISFileSystem.pub:putBytes

endloop
The adapter service is fetching the data correctly. Screenshot attached. But after that I think none of the steps are working. I am only getting the output of the Adapter Service. It seems that the results Document List is not getting copied as it should in the LOOP step.

I am fairly new in webMethods Development. Can you please help?

Hi Mainak,

if I understand your logic right, you want to have one file per record in the results array.

You can try to define the tempDoc as a DocumentList and specify this as the output Array for the loop when both list will have the same length. If the output length differ from the input length you can use pub.list:addToDocumentList service.
After that use documentToXMLString for the whole tempDocument list outside of the Loop and this will result in one file with all entries.

Please wrap the loop in a Try-Catch sequence to see if there is any step failing.

SEQUENCE (Exit on SUCCESS)
 SEQUENCE (Exit on FAILURE)
  Loop here
 SEQUENCE (Exit on DONE)
  pub.flow:getLastError
  pub.flow:debugLog (log the error message from getLastError here)

Which version of wM are you using?
Screenshots seems to be from an older version prior to the 9.x versions.

Regards,
Holger

Thank you Holger for your reply. The try-catch tip was really helpful. I’m using webMethods 6.5. I know, it’s very old.