SAP publish to Oracle database

I am new to the whole pub -sub and SAP world of webMethods - I needed an idea as to how to do the following?

Say I create an order in SAP and publish it to the broker. I also have a JDBC adapter subscribed to the broker, if I need to update/insert some information in the Oracle database hooked upto the JDBC adapter,would this whole scenario work?

How would I be publishing this order to the broker - do I need to use an SAP adapter too? Do I need to use RFC/IDOCS? What if I have a volume of 2500 orders/hour? Any ideas/approach is appreciated.

What if I also wanted some information back from the database into SAP?How would I approach this. Do I need to write some custom java/flow services also to achieve this?
Basically I am looking for a simple example/solution of how to send messages from SAP to Oracle DB using webMethods.

many thanks
Andy k

Say I create an order in SAP and publish it to the broker. I also have a JDBC adapter subscribed to the broker, if I need to update/insert some information in the Oracle database hooked upto the JDBC adapter,would this whole scenario work?

Yes it works.

How would I be publishing this order to the broker
Once you the idoc/xml from SAP convert it to your internal cannonical document and use pub.publish:publish service to Broker and set up a Trigger for subscribing the publishable document and build the JDBC Adapter services for insert/updates.

• do I need to use an SAP adapter too?
    For inbound/outbound documents exchange from SAP,SAP Adapter communication is necessary along with WM partner manager routing rules.

Do I need to use RFC/IDOCS? Its all depends what SAP document format you requirement wanted to use.
What if I have a volume of 2500 orders/hour?
Basically you need to tune up and configure respective servers/RFClistener/processing/coding logic/jdbc connection pools.But 2500/hr is not big deal to process in webMethods also depends on how if processing large documents(IDOC’s).