Rewant urgent help regarding the date validation

Hi,
I am new to webMethods and I have a issue regarding the date format
I want to know whether there is any java code or a service which can validate the date…I mean if I am passing a date in yyyyMMdd format it should check the value(valid dateformat) and return a dateStatus(InvalidDate if date foramt is wrong or Ok if it is correct). Also it should check for some junk data…I mean if there is a value like 00000000 or 11111111…(exactly as yyyyMMdd) it should return the dateStatus as invalidDate.

If anybody has any info on this please let me know…

Thanks in advance…

Ghanasyam

Syam,

You will need to write a custom piece of java code to do your thing. Take the pattern and the dateString as an input into a java service and based on the pattern, substring the dateString into month (MM), date (dd) and year (yyyy or yy). Once you have these three different variables, you will have to build a logic to do a check if the date is valid for the given month and so on.

Do a search on google for this java code and I am sure you will find a bunch of results with exactly what you are looking for… All you will need to do is to convert the code to webM java service. Let me know if you can’t find the java code on google and may be I can help you a bit with that.

Rohit

Hi Rohit,

I tried with the java code given by Roger but I could not resolve the issue. I am actually getting zeros for the date field(00000000). I tried to find some java codes but failed to find a proper code.If you have any code on this issue please let me know.Thank you for the reply

Syam

Syam (& Roger?),

The code that Roger has given will work… all you need to do is add one line - after the sdf is instantiated, add:
sdf.setLenient(false);