return all based on a condition.

Hi I am new to XQuery and want to know whether I can return all the nodes in the xml file based on a condition.
For eg:

{
FOR $b IN document(“bib.xml”)/bib/book
WHERE $b/publisher = “Addison-Wesley”
RETURN

{ $b/title }

}

This XQuery returns only the book node and its child node. What I need is that it should return all the nodes in bib.xml based on the condition.

Thank You
Kulkarni

I missed a thing, what I am expecting from the return statement is all the node/text pair values.
For eg: JK Rowling
then XQuery should return author and JK Rowling
Is it possible to get the node/text values of the childnodes of each node if it has any?

Thank You
Kulkarni

I’m not 100% sure what your expecting to be returned. If you just want all the elements which match your criteria - plus the full tree structure below them, then you can just do:-

{
FOR $b IN document(“bib.xml”)/bib/book
WHERE $b/publisher = “Addison-Wesley”
RETURN
$b

Hope that helps

Mike Ball

Hi Thanx for the reply, thats the part of the answer I required, Thanx. But can I just the get the element name and the text for each node/child node in the document?

JK Rowling

author = JK Rowling

If you want to return all the books that satisfy the condition, write:

{
for $b in document(“bib.xml”)/bib/book
where $b/publisher = “Addison-Wesley”
return $b
}

I hope I’ve interpreted your requirements correctly, if not, it helps if you explain what you want the output to be.

Michael Kay

Actually there’s a simpler way of writing this:

{
document(“bib.xml”)/bib/book
[publisher = “Addison-Wesley”]
}

Hello there,

to get a result like “author = JK Rowling” you could use something like this in the query:

return 
      <book>
         {local-name($b/author)} = {$b/author/text()}
      </book>

I hope that helps (rather than confuses matters!),
Trevor.

Thanx Trevor,
I used your code snippet and I was able to see
author = JK Rowling
as the output.