Problem on input data when calling web service

I am struggling with the following issue and your input will be very much appreciated!

In webMethods Developer(version 6.0.1), I genereted ws connector (see the attached) based on the wsdl (see the attached). The remote web service was developed in Java, deployed on WebLogic 8.1 (SP5). It takes an object as input and returns an object as response and is invoked by HTTPS. When running the client in Developer, I could not see the response back. The folks on the remote service side said their service see the input was empty. However, username and password passed over in the simple string type were recognized without any problem.

I am new to web service. Did I miss anything? Many thanks!
patient-demo.wsdl (7.03 KB)

I am using RPC/encoded. The service take an object called DemographicRequest and output an object called DemographicResponse. Here are the first few steps for my client:

Map —> Set an input string
pub.string: base64Encode —> encode the input string
Map —> map the encoded string to DemographicRequest attribute which is an encoded string (see the attached screenshot). Might this have caused the problem?
pub.client:soapRPC → step to call the remote service

Should I try document/literal too?

Any of you can shred some light on this, I would appreciate it a lot!!

-Pat

It appears that the ADTMessage within the DemographicRequest is, as you pointed out, a base-64 encoded representation of something. Perhaps a Java object? My guess is that base64 encoding of an input string is not the thing to do–otherwise the input type would simply be a string instead of xsd:base64Binary.

The key is to find out exactly what that web service is expecting for input. If they expect a serialized Java object that is base64 encode, then you’ll need to create such an object and marshall it. If that’s the case, the web service developers aren’t being very nice to their consumers.