Messages published via publishAndWait

Hello.

Suppose, I have a durable subscriber in UM but the consumer is not active at the moment.

What happens to messages published to UM from within the Integration Server using the service pub.publish:publishAndWait?

The caller (the IS service) gets a timeout but what happens to the message in UM? Does it get discarded? Or does it get processed when the cosumer becomes active?

Thanks!

If a timeout occurs, then the original message will still be picked up and processed by the subscriber. But its response will obviously get lost as the publisher is no longer waiting for it.

Jonathan, thank you for the quick response!

It’s clear to me that the sender will not receive the response. But your remark raises another question: Why would the response get discarded in UM? How is it received in UM? Is there a (durable?) subscriber (named object) for it? How does UM know that the message is to be discarded?

The response is returned through a temp queue that automatically gets removed when the IS-UM session is closed. Any responses that were not picked up by waiting publishers will stay in that temp queue and then are discarded when it is removed.

Jonathan, thanks again.

One bit is missing for me to undestand how it works. Who creates the temp queue? If it’s the initial sender how can the responder send a response (because by the time the response is sent the initial sender and hence the queue does not exist anymore)?

If the queue is created by the responder then how would the sender know where to pick up the response?

Thank you for your patience.

The approach is slightly different for JMS or native pub-sub. But generally, each IS-UM connection will establish a temp queue for such response messages when the connection is enabled. So the temp queue will exist for as long as the connection is active.