Memory spikes in server

Hi All,

I have seen couple of threads on garbage collector but did find what i need

We are using wM 7.1.1.0, java 1.5.0_12 and noticing lot of memory spikes. So i created a garbage collector service (scheduled it for 60 sec) and enabled (watt.server.cache.gcMins=60). I also noticed lot of improper coding which also could lead to memory spikes. Other than modifing the code is there any thing else i can do from IS side to reduce memory spikes ? \

Also i am not good at coding in java. I read couple of forms and created GC java service with just one line [System.gc();] and no inputs or outputs, did i do it the right way ?

Any help would be really appreciated. :happy:

Regards
Dave

Dave,
If you read through the forums then you probably saw that it is not recommended to use the System.gc() call.

It’s quite normal for a JVM to have memory spikes. The gc will returned the memory after it runs which it will do on its on. Memory spikes are only an issue if you actually run out of memory. In that case you have a couple of potential issues such as you haven’t sized the jvm correctly for the number/size of transactions you have or you have code that is leaking memory which the gc is not recovering.

If you are looking at the little graph on the Admin page, i wouldn’t stare at that to much unless like I said you are actually running out of memory.

Hi Markg,

Thanks for your response. Do we have any known issues using System.gc() as i have seen implementations using System.gc(). Please advise.

Regards
Dave

Let me reverse the question on you, what do you think is being accomplished by calling System.gc()?

As far as my understanding goes, the method recycles unused objects in order to make the memory they currently occupy available for quick reuse.