Looping on DocumentList

Hi all,

I am new to webMethods working on version 6. I have a with looping on a document list.

Here is the document structure that will be used as input

1. Root(Document)
    1.1) Parent(DocumentList)
    1.1.1) Child1.1(String)
    1.1.2) Child1.2(Document)
    1.1.3) Child1.3(DocumentList)
    1.1.3.1) Child1.3.1(String)

I have an XML file as input and mapping to a fixed format flatfile. I created the document as

per the input XML file. I do have some more Childnodes repeating down the Child1.3

Following is the occurences of elements
1.1 Parent : 1 or more times
1.1.3 Child1.3 : 0 or more times

Given below are the steps I am using.

1. getFile
  2. XMLStringToXMLNode
  3. XMLNodeToDocument.
  4. Loop on parent
    4.1) Sequence

it is Ok till Step 3. The processing and result after the 3rd step varies depending on the

occurrence of the Document List values in the above structure.

Case#1)
If Parent node occurs only once, the structure will be
1)Root
1.1) Parent
1.1.1) Child 1.1

Case#2)
If Parent node occurs more than once, the structure will be

1. Root
    1.1)Parent
    1.1.1)Parent[0]
    1.1.1.1) Child1.1.1

Here is the problem. The Sequence step with #4.1 will be executed only in Case#2, but not in Case#1, because of the difference in strucutres. My complete logic will be in & after this sequence step. The same problem occurs for all the consecutive repeating Child elements.

How can I loop on the parent node without caring for the occurences?. Is there any wrong in my approach or is there any other way around?

Any help is appreciated.

-Sateesh

try invoking IO.idata.readAndWriteDocumentList in the WmSamples package.
Pass in your “Parent” to the service in.
What it’s supposed to do is if there is only one occurrence of Parent it will still force it to be a list. Therefore you only have to code for list situations.

HTH