Is it possible to create custom pfkeys for the program area?

Hi again.
First of all, I created this same thread on adabas administration for mistake. I was reading a few threads here and there and created in the wrong place.

I’m afraid I was not crystal clear on the subject, so…

I am in the edit program screen, looking at my code, then I decide to scan for a string. ok.
so I type " SC #ISN-UPD-DB01 " (no quotes)

Then I want to check them all, so I keep trying PF10 for the short of “SC =”

I know that if I type SC =- I can go back one step. I also know that if I change the default + on top screen for - I’ll look in reverse way.

What I want to do is to map like, PF9, to be the short of SC =-

I am a developer and therefore has no access to adabas administration or things like that.

What I tried so far was:
MAINMENU → Development Environment Settings → Function-Key Settings

CLR %%_______
PA1 _________
PA2 _________
PA3 _________
PF1 %R_______
PF2 E________
PF3 C________
PF4 RUN______
PF5 LOGOFF___
PF6 STOW_____ <<<<<<<<<<<<<< CHANGED THIS
PF7 -20______
PF8 +20______
PF9 SCAN =-__ <<<<<<<<<<<<<<< AND THIS
PF10 _________

but 1) it does not work at all and 2) when I leave the cics environment and come back, the changes weren’t save, despite the PF5 update…

So… Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Marcelo.

While in the program editor, enter the PROFILE command. Customize the PF keys as you wish then save the editor profile as your own by changing the name (SYSTEM by default) to your user ID.

Thanks Ralph It helped a lot.

If you have useful keystrokes mapped, could you please share them?

I’ve attached a PDF excerpt from my training materials.

I particularly like PF23 and PF24.

. Place your cursor on any string in the source and press PF23 to scan for the next occurrence. How well this works relies on the SCAN settings for absolute strings and mixed case.