Instance Demo

Ok, i’m a relative newbie to JSP and Xapp, but i using the property demo, i managed to make my page (which was for a cars database). Now, after i find a list of cars, and i click on the ID number that each car in the result set has (see List.jsp of the property example) I go to InstanceDemo.jsp which shows me details about the car. Now what i want to do is, have a link from this page, which will query my database further. I now want to get a list of dealers from my DB for THIS particular car, how would i do that?

Hope this is clear enough to understand.
X-Application Version: 3.1.2, 3.1.1
Tamino Version : 3.1.1
Platform : NT, Win2k, Solaris, …
WebContainer : Tomcat 3.3
JDK Version : 1.3.1

Hello,

There are two ways to implement this.

• You create a query which is processed when the user clicks the link. To create the query you can use a form with hidden fields, e.g.

<form name=“CarVendorQuery” method=“post” action="DisplayCarVendors.jsp?>
    <input type=?hidden? name=? queryschema(CarVendor)?>

<input type=?hidden? name=?query(/CarVendor/Cars/Car,~=)?>

Then, you assign the link to your verdor page with a JavaScript function. This function is responsible to set the value of the field ?query(/CarVendor/Cars/Car/@name,~=)?. Its value identifies the car the user selected. For example

<bdm:display select=?/Car/name?>Vendors</bdm:display>

On the Java Server Page (DisplayCarVendors.jsp) you can use a browse tag with document attribute CarVendorList to show the result.

• The alternative is to insert a directcommand into the page that shows the vedors.

bdm:form
    <bdm:directcommand type=?query? document=?CarVendorList? schema=“CarVendor” queryparm=?USEBODY?>
    ./Cars/Car~=<bdm:form document=?selectedCar?><bdm:display select=?/Car/@name?/></bdm:form>
    </bdm:directcommand>
    </bdm:form>