InsertSQL from file blank records

I have followed the flat-file tutorial and the JDBC tutorial. Now I’m trying to make a package read from a flat file and put that data into the database. It reads the data from the file; I can see the data in the Results tab. The JDBC adapter inserts a record for each data line in the file. But each line inserted into the database is NULL in every column I have the fields in the Data Type mapped to the table columns. It doesn’t get an error message. What could be missing? I can’t see any clue when I run it in debug. I don’t now why my data didn’t get into the inserted records. I’m new at this, so I might be missing something obvious.

Hi Amy,
This response is late, so maybe you have already resolved this. Anyway, the issue appears to be that contractorSourceFileDT/recordWithNoID is a document list (containing multiple documents) and contractorsFromFileInput is a document (only one document). You need to loop over contractorSourceFileDT/recordWithNoID and invoke the contractorsFromFile adapter service within that loop.
-Mary

No, actually, this problem still isn’t solved. Thank you, Mary, for responding.

The recordWithNoID was actually supposed to be the default record type but there was also a header record I was trying to recognize. Didn’t work.

Maybe I’ll make it have just the one record type and have it so that if the CONTENT of the record looks like the header, then just skip to the next record.

Thanks for recognizing this, Mary. I’ll see if I can use this clue to fix it. That would be great!

Unfortunately, I don’t THINK the solution is with the default record. I had already tried recreating the layout to try to solve something else I had observed. The header-record layout no longer exists. But the recordWithNoID is still under the Document Type object the way the mapping in my original picture shows.